Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

Map of Michigan highlighting Oakland County

Image via Wikipedia

Today I had the opportunity to talk with a 3rd grade class from Walled Lake, Michigan.  This teacher really had her students prepared for the visit.  She has a Skype friend of the week that visits her classroom, and I got to be one of the lucky Skype friends this week.  I feel like I won the lottery.

These students always ask people how they use reading and writing in their everyday life.  I absolutely loved the question, because it is a pivotal part of my life.  I wouldn’t be able to do the job that I do if real reading and writing were not a part of it.

So, how do I read on a daily basis?  I read books for pleasure, spiritual growth, and learning.  In fact I usually have about 4 or 5 books that I am in the middle of for when I am in the mood.  I read blogs, magazines, e-mails, twitter, and more.  The list is really endless.

As far as writing goes, I write my own blog, write notes to my kids teachers, write e-mails, facebook, and tweet. I can’t imagine my life without reading and writing.

When I mentioned that I tweet, these awesome students began telling me about their tweeting.  Then, they sang a song.  You have to hear it, it is the sweetest thing in the world. 

Comments on: "Real Reading, Writing, and Twitter" (1)

  1. […] Kaminski wrote about the visit on her blog.  See a portion of the visit below (4.5 min).  My favorite part is near the end when Mrs. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

