Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

What is a blog

Aerial view of Kansas City, Kansas, looking so...

Image via Wikipedia

I had the most interesting conversation with a group of 3rd graders in Tescott, Kansas this morning.  Our conversation turned into the different things that we read today.  I started mentioning the many different things that I read such as books, ebooks, blogs, e-mails and texts.  When I mentioned blogs, one of the students asked what blog is. So, I started explaining what a blog is and then I remembered that I write a blog.  It is really funny when I remember that I write a blog, you will have to watch the video.

So, I start to tell the students about my blog and how I write about the interactions that I have with schools through Skype and reading in their classrooms.  When I mentioned that they would have to read about themselves on my blog, they thought that was pretty cool.

As an educator it donned on me that even though our students are born into this decade of technology, they don’t always know what all of it is for or how to use it.  I have learned how to use these tools on my own since they did not exist when I went to school, but I think back on it and realize how much easier it would have been if someone had taught me how to do it.  I not only love writing on my own blog, but I also love reading other people’s blogs and responding to them.  I think that it is so cool that we can communicate with people from all over the world through simple tools like blogs and Skype.  I absolutely love it!!!

Check out the video to see this amazing group of students.

Comments on: "What is a blog" (2)

  1. Thank you so much for a great experience for the Tescott Third Grade. They thoroughly enjoyed the visit with you and the story that you read. What a great selection. Sharing your screen to enhance the reading of the story is a great idea. We will be visiting with you again!

    • You are very welcome. I could tell they enjoyed the visit. They were so well behaved and enthusiastic. I love that Skype has screensharing. I wouldn’t be able to run my business tutoring students without it. Thank you so much for allowing me to spend time with your students and I am already looking forward to the next visit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

