Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

Doesn’t “the most amazing 1st grade class on the planet” sound like something that a mother would

Skyping with my daughter

say?  Well, my bias may be getting in the way, but I skyped into the smartest group of children today in Merton, WI.  The class consists of 40 children and 2 wonderful teachers named Mrs. Venskus and Mrs. Dallman-Repp.  It is a total of 1.2 miles away from my house and my 6 year old daughter happens to be in this class.

Web 2.0 is awesome!  In fact, as I was connecting with other educators on Twitter I happened to meet the tech coordinator for my daughters class completely by accident.  As we started chatting we realized that my daughters are in her class.  It is definitely a small world.

She helped me set up a mystery reader of the day with my daughters first grade class.  We planted Becca in the front row so that we could see the expression on her face when she realized that her mom was going to be on the screen.  See, Becca gets to watch me work with other classrooms on occasion and she hasn’t had the opportunity to experience this for herself until today.

Her face was all aglow when she saw me and when I told the class that I was going to be reading The Gingerbread Man, their faces were all aglow as well.  The students caught onto this wonderful pattern in Jim Aylesworth’s version rather quickly and took over the repetitive patterns like a well worn glove.  The children enjoyed the story and I had a fabulous time surprising the class.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

