Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

I Love Versatile Teachers

Plymouth Rock, located in Plymouth, Massachuse...

Image via Wikipedia

Have you ever run into those teachers that will figure out a way to make anything work that they need to?  Well, this morning I had the pleasure to read to Misty Norman’s Kindergarten class in Bakersfield, CA.  Misty and I met over Twitter and she had mentioned that she has never used Skype before, but that she would like to.  At her school, there is no support for technology, so she gave the technology a go anyway.  I couldn’t see her class, but she could see mine.

I was able to read Thanksgiving Day by Anne Rockwell and we were able to talk about Thanksgiving together.  We noticed that some of the foods were the same foods that we eat today.

I had mentioned that I went to Plymouth Rock when I was a kid, but it wasn’t as exciting as I thought it was going to be.  It really smelled and it was pretty much just a big rock.  I have a picture of it above.  I am not sure what I expected.

All in all it was amazing that we could pretty much have the same interaction as I would have had I been able to see them.  I love reading to kids in the classroom, and I love versatile teachers like Misty that will try new things in their classroom.

Check out our experience together.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

