Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

Cover of "The Three Little Wolves and the...

Cover via Amazon

I just spent about 20 minutes with a very enthusiastic class.  They were so much fun.  This group of students is from Coronach, Saskatchewan,Canada.  One of the things that they are grateful for are their houses and food.  I told them that I am also grateful that we have houses and food here.

I learned that Coronach, Saskatchewan,Canada is right above Montana and that they are right over the border.  The closest city to them is in the United States.  Wow, that must be so cool.  I wonder if they think that is as cool as I do.  When I mentioned that this class is 1,072 miles away and that it would take me 18 hours and 57 minutes to get there they were completely amazed.  I am still amazed that I can talk to people so far away all from the comfort of my home.  I love technology and what it is capable of doing. (In the near future I am going to be working with some students in Germany).

Today the story that I read was The Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig. Ms. Elder’s class has been finishing up a unit on Fairytales.  The students shared with me that they got the opportunity to go to the movies and see Tangled.  I explained that The Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig were just like Tangled because they are versions of a fairytale, but not the exact original of the fairytale.

When we got to the part where the pig brought out the dynamite, I was scared to go to the next page.  The class was very eager to see this house explode and you will have to read it yourself to find out if indeed the explodes or not.  Take a look at the video of our wonderful adventure together and see the enthusiasm emanate from this group of students.

Comments on: "Fairytales All Tangled Up in Canada" (4)

  1. What a fabulous idea! I am originally from Wisconsin and now teach 3rd grade in OK. We just had our 1st Skyoe experience with another 3rd grade class in PA and loved it. Let me know if you want to skype with us.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

