Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

Skype is such an amazing tool that just keeps getting better.  Skype now has a group call feature that allows people to have multiple people on the line at the same time.  We tried this as educators today with 3 classrooms and the Skyping Reading Tutor.  What a great experience it was.

I found out that it was not only cold here in Wisconsin with a temperature of -15 degrees, but it was cold everywhere today.  Todays classrooms included,

  • Mr. Greenberg’s 2nd grade class in Bridgeport, CT
  • Ms. Well’s 4th grade class in Kansas
  • Ms. Kidd’s Kindergarten class in North Carolina

Connecticut won out as being the warmest place to be today.  I was quite surprised.  I guess they deserve it since they have been pummeled with snow lately.  It was a balmy 25 degrees there today.  Kansas had 1 degree and I forgot to ask the kids in North Carolina what the temperature was.  They were in the middle of a 2 hour delay and had just arrived at school, 10:30 EST, due to the snow they had.

Today’s topic was snow.  Usually when I skype with classrooms I show the pictures of the book that I am reading.  However, when you are skyping with multiple classrooms you are unable to do a share screen.  The week prior I read a non-fiction book about snow, but many of the words forced the reader to look at the pictures.  So, I decided not to use that book again.  Instead I used the book Millions of Snowflakes by Mary McKenna Siddals.

This was definitely not a book that I would have picked out to read to 4th graders.  The pictures have little kids in them and are geared for younger children.  However, the words in this book I found to be very poetic (and poetry is definitely appropriate for 4th grade).

I found it really cool that the Kindergarten, 2nd grade, and 3rd grade students all enjoyed the book as much as I did.  The 4th graders in Ms. Wells class had mentioned that it was a very relaxing book.  We talked about how this might be the perfect book to put a younger brother or sister to sleep with.

The 2nd graders in CT said that the book sounded like where they live.  I could relate to it as well living in Wisconsin and just having had a fresh layer of snow last week.  And the Kindergartners just sat and enjoyed the whole experience.

While I was reading the story I made a connection with one part.  When readers do this, it is called a text to self connection.  The part of the text that I connected with was,

Three little snowflakes melt on my tongue.  I eat them up. Yum! Yum! Yum!

I remembered how my 4 year old daughter was walking into school on Tuesday this week with her head up to the sky and her tongue hanging out catching snowflakes.  I was able to focus on how this was a proper connection to make.  Sometimes we can make connections that are actually distractions because they have nothing to do with the story, but this was a good connection because I could visualize the snowflakes melting and someone enjoying them in their tummy.

Take a look at our experience together and wherever you are, STAY WARM!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

