Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

Good Day Mate!  These were the first words that my 2nd grade student I work with in Australia said to me.  It was so cute and so wonderful, I think that I will remember it for the rest of my life.

The day that I began working with Brooklyn was actually a day that my whole life changed.  I began to realize that I really can work with any student from around the globe and help them improve their reading ability.  As I listened to Brooklyn read, I was able to tell exactly what she was missing in her reading instruction and today I provide it for her all from the comfort of my home. My tutoring company has officially launched into an International status.

I am able to work with Brooklyn on Friday nights at 6:00 or 7:00 my time and it is 9:00 or 10:00 in the morning on Saturday.  I joke with Brooklyn and ask her how the future is.  At first she was confused, she probably still is a little bit, but she is beginning to understand that when I go to bed her day has really just began.

Today I was in Ms. Bright’s classroom in San Antonio, Texas and guess what?  They just happened to be studying about Australia.  It was really cool to learn more details about Australia as I was preparing for this visit.  The most amazing fact for me is that there are only 18.3 million people that live there.  That is the same amount of people that live in New York.  However, it is as large at the United States.  Therefore, it is a much less populated country than the United States.

The students in Ms. Bright’s class prepared some great questions for Brooklyn.  We are going to see if we can get Brooklyn and her mom to share some answers in the form of a video that we can send to Ms. Bright’s class.  Their wonderful questions were the following:

  1. What is Christmas time like in Australia?
  2. Does Brooklyn like to read?
  3. What kinds of books does Brooklyn like to read?
  4. What is life like in Australia?

To see what our experience was like today, click on the video below. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

