Find out where in the world the Skyping Reading Tutor is. The skyping reading tutor volunteers in classrooms by reading books and motivating them to read. The Skyping Reading Tutor also has her own online reading tutoring company www.theskypingreadingtutor.com

Ask and you shall receive.  That is what happened to me when I asked my student in Australia some questions that students had asked her in San Antonio, Texas.

The students in Texas wanted to know what it was like at Christmas time in Australia.  I didn’t get too much of a response about this, except that it is hot.  It is very, very, very hot.  It is so hot that they go swimming on Christmas day.

Who wants the inside scoop on Santa?  Well, they don’t have chimneys in Ayr, Queensland so santa goes through the front door or through the window.  Santa figures out a way to do his job despite all of the hurdles he has to go through.

Another thing that the students wanted to know about was what kinds of books she likes to read.  On the video below they show us some of their favorite titles.  I noticed that they had The Very Hungary Caterpillar by Eric Carle, which is one of my favorites.  I recognized the Scholastic symbol on the books that they had, so some of the titles were familiar ones and some weren’t.  One of the books that they had raved about was The Wonky Donkey.  It was originally a song that was turned into a favorite book.  You can click on the title to hear the fun song.  This is not well known to us in the U.S., but it is definitely on the favorites list of the family that I work with.  I was in 7th heaven being introduced to books that I had never heard of before.

To see some of the other amazing books that are on my Australian families best loved list, check out the video that I created for my friends in San Antonio, Texas.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

